Another Free Addiction

Clash of Heroes

Fantasy-Strategery

For the past few months, Microsoft has been running their ‘Games with Gold’ promotion, letting XBLA Gold members download a different free game on the 1st and 15th of each month (presumably to keep customer loyalty in the upcoming next-gen console battle). So far, some have been kind of lackluster (Kinect Party??), while others, like Crackdown, I skipped since I already own them. Some time ago, I downloaded Dead Rising 2, but have yet to play it since I STILL haven’t gotten around to finishing the first one – it’s on my list! But these games are not my focus here today. Instead, I want to talk a bit about the last game I grabbed, at the beginning of October, which has really given me a surprising addiction as of late. I’m talking’ ’bout Might & Magic: Clash of Heroes.

Clash of Heroes

I love the art style of some of the characters

I first saw this game I guess about a year and a half ago, when I was at a friend’s house for some D&D. Afterwards, we briefly checked out this game they were playing; it looked…not bad. Colorful fantasy, easy to learn, family friendly. For months I thought about purchasing it from time to time. I thought it might make a fun game for my girlfriend, who is more a casual gamer when she games at all. But I never did get around to getting it. Before long, I had forgotten all about it…

So when XBLA offered a new game for October to download, called Clash of Heroes, I honestly did not know that this was the same game I had seen way back when. I didn’t really look into what it was too much; I figured I could download it and try it out, whatever it was. Decide if I liked it enough to play later. You can probably figure the rest, since I’m writing about it now…

Clash of Heroes

I’ve had a great time with it so far! Definitely the most I’ve had with any of the Games with Gold games, and – let’s be honest – more than I’ve had with many AAA retail releases. It’s gotten to the point where I look forward to leaving from work so I can get in a few rounds with it. What a pleasant surprise! I’m not typically a big puzzle/strategy guy, but something about Clash of Heroes just hits the nail on the head.

Anyway, enough said for now. Writing this has put me in the mood for some gaming. I’m currently in the third campaign (out of five, I believe), so I’ve still got some battles to go yet. And you can bet I’ll be showing this off to my son the next chance I get!

Leave a Reply

