Backlog Redux 2014 #3 – Poker Night at the Inventory 2

Poker Night at the Inventory 2

Raise the Roof

I’ve already done a write-up of my initial thoughts about Poker Night 2 previously. When first getting into the game, I enjoyed it a lot, probably even an inordinate amount of enjoyment for something as simple as poker! It’s not that the game didn’t have a few flaws, but the combination of the colorful characters and funny, diverse dialog to listen to, plus of course that penchant towards a slight gambling addiction that most people probably have to some degree or another, kept me playing on and on, trying to increase my winnings and gain every last trophy available.

This last thing is precisely what ultimately led to me getting heartily sick of the game.

After having unlocked and claimed every item and trophy, and having seen and heard every animation and line of dialog, only one thing remained: the elusive “We Are the 1%” trophy only given upon earning a total of $1,000,000. That damn last trophy. I was gonna be damned if I was gonna let it keep me from getting 100% trophy collection status, even just for the benefit of my own peace of mind! And this, this proverbial carrot on a stick, was the final nail in the coffin of my enjoyment of Poker Night 2.

It would be an understatement to say that I had a hard time of it, getting to $1,000,000. In fact, I spent the first couple of dozen matches in the red. Eventually, having clawed my way out of the negatives, I began my slow – and unsteady – rise through the hundred thousands. It seems like every time I made a few steps forward, I took at least twenty back, and so much of the next month or two was spent in a deadlocked struggle, my purse vacillating up and back down again incessantly. At one point I had clawed my up to about $800,000 only to fall back into the $300,000s during the next few days. It was grueling.

Poker Night at the Inventory 2

Along the way, I listened to every stinking bit of dialog ad nauseam. Though I initially praised the variety of spoken flavor conversations between your table mates, there’s only so long that any pre-recorded conversations can stay fresh. I am now so, so heartily sick of hearing about Lithuanian lap dancers, Deadites, Steve, Stinky and Sal, boobies, Bosco’s Banangatini, and everything else that, if I never have to see Claptrap, Ash, and the others again, it’ll still be too soon! I cannot for the life of me comprehend why there wasn’t an option to turn off the chatter; the developers HAD to have considered that, at some point, players would have heard everything there was to hear. This, in retrospect, has turned out to be the game’s biggest flaw, and really made my final few days difficult to get through, though it could have been so easily avoided.

A smaller gripe, though still important to note, is that I would have really loved to have been able to play some other variants of poker, beside the Texas and Omaha Hold-Ems included in the game. What about just the plain, traditional style of Poker, for one?

I did, eventually, make it to that $1 million mark. For those who are interested, here’s my moment of triumph, captured for posterity’s sake:

As a side note, though I played the game for a long, LONG time, I never was able to figure out anybody’s tells. Each time I thought I had one figured out, I was proven wrong on the next hand – which is probably why my money total was always in such a state of flux…

Final Stats:

Tournaments Won: 63 (That’s winnings of 1,260,000 total!)

Players Knocked Out: 271

Hands Won/Played: 850/2345

% of Hands Won: 36%

Final Balance: $1,020,000

Leave a Reply

