Backlog Redux 2014 #27 – Proteus

Proteus

Warning: Game May Take Longer to Install Than to Finish

I’ve read the positively gushing reviews and opinions online of people who were just taken by Proteus‘s procedurally-generated open-world that is meant for nothing more than seeing and hearing as you walk through it. I wondered at the reactions of people who seemed to be in awe at what this indie game did for their awareness, as they praised it as a veritable work of art.

Me, I guess I just didn’t get it.

Proteus

It looks nice, but that doesn’t matter if I can’t do anything with what I’m seeing.

I’ve honestly been kind of dreading writing about Proteus, because what is there to honestly say about a game that does nothing? If anything, it seems more like a graphics and sound demo, a virtual space not built for any purpose other than showcasing some piece of code or software. I know I’m a very literal kind of guy, and apparently Proteus‘s point went too far over my head.

Now, I don’t want you to think I didn’t give the game a fair shake. In fact, I played it through to its conclusion (though that only took somewhere in the neighborhood of 20-30 minutes). I probably spent more time looking up information on it afterward than I did on actually playing through the game. As it turns out, there were a few things I still missed, though there’s exactly 0% chance of me going back through even once to find some of them.

ProteusIn all honesty, I’ve heard some of these same complaints leveled at games like Minecraft, which both my friend Marcus and my girlfriend Ayasha swear is just a game about picking up blocks from one place and sticking them in another…over and over and over again. And they’re technically not that wrong. But that hasn’t stopped my son Brendyn and me from enjoying the hell out of building our fantasy structures. I guess what I’m saying is that these games with little purpose or direction do appeal to someone. I just know that I’m not that person when it comes to Proteus.

Leave a Reply

